My Summer Reading List (And Why)

I was definitely that kid in school, the one who got ridiculously excited when the summer reading lists would appear, and not for the same reason anyone else did. For most kids it’s a dreaded task but when the list comes out that means school is done. For me, it was an excuse to go to my favorite places in the world (the bookstore and library) and it meant an entire summer of reading. I still love a good summer reading list –  Modern Mrs. Darcy does a fantastic one every year.

summer-reading

These are the books I’m hoping/planning to read this summer:

1. For All Time by Jude Deveraux – Book 2 in her Nantucket Brides series,I read and enjoyed the first one on our honeymoon last summer, so it seems perfectly right to include it on this summer’s tbr list.

2. Violets of March by Sarah Jio – This is actually the book I’m currently reading on my Kindle. I’ve heard wonderful things about the author from various bloggers I follow, and am excited to see what the hype is about.

3. The Glass Kitchen by Linda Francis Lee – Already accomplished, the review will be coming later this week!

4. Lead by Kylie Scott – Quite possibly the book I’m most excited about this summer, this is the third book in her Stage Dive series. I’m totally hooked! I’ve been loving this New Adult romance series about a rock band and would recommend it highly! My reviews of the first two books Lick and Play will be coming soon!

5. The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla by Lauren Willig – The second to last Pink Carnation book, I’m simultaneously sad to see the series ending and breathlessly anticipating the last book. I’m dying to find out who Jane’s hero is, and I feel like the story-within-the-story of Eloise and Colin is on it’s last legs, so it’s probably time.

6. Forget Me by K.A. Harrington – This looks like a good YA thriller, and I love the premise that the main character discovers her boyfriend’s death may not be so real via a social media site’s all-knowing facial recognition software.

7. The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin – I loved her last book The American Heiress and her latest book about Empress Sisi of Austria looks great. I recently listened to the Stuff You Missed in History Class podcast about Sisi, and am eagerly anticipating the book!

8. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – A summer book set on an island about four teenagers and a secret, count me in!

What kinds of books do you like to read during the summer? I gravitate between romances and thrillers. Any books I should add to the list?

 

Leave a Reply

